Getting better at getting better

I have never been one to follow through. While I haven’t started any crafting projects at our new house, my parent’s house is filled with the remnants of crafts in various phases of completion. A bag of drawing pencils, several sketchbooks that are maybe half full, woodworking projects that are half done, and ukulele that I kind of know how to play, the list goes on.

Maybe I haven’t found something that I am passionate enough about to devote the time it takes to become really good. I want to be great from the start, but let’s be honest, how often do you find something that you are really good at and super passionate about from the beginning? I would say probably not very often. There are things that pique your interest, but when it comes to putting in the work to get really great – the task can seem more daunting than climbing Mount Everest.

My New Year’s Resolution on this the 16th of June: Get better at getting better at things.

Obviously it isn’t actually the start of a new year, or of a new month or new week even, but if I don’t start today then I may never start. And it is never a bad time to start bettering yourself!

Now for the how – in the book The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Sean Covey (Yes, I know there is also one for adults, but I haven’t read it… and what he says in here also applies to adults too…and it’s more fun to read, probably.) he talks about seven habits that can help you achieve your goals. I’d just like to focus on one of them: Habit 1 – Be Proactive, you are in charge of your own life. You have to grab the bull by the horns! This is s0 inspiring to me, because sometimes I can forget that I am the one running (or not running) my life.

This is my first draft of steps to help me to achieve my goals.  (If you would like a fun way to try these steps out I have a goal worksheet on my Etsy store.)

Step one- decide what your goals are

Step two- make a checklist of things that must be done to achieve that goal

Step three- do the steps

And that’s it!

Making it through that last part is the hardest. I am often overwhelmed by the task in front of me and so I do nothing instead of tackling it a little bit at a time. A great example of this was planning my wedding – which could take up a whole other post – but this is where you have to be fearless and fierce! Get an accountability partner! Have your mom, sister, brother, friend hold you accountable, post on Facebook and have the internet hold you accountable, think of a reward for yourself for when you complete each task.  Personally I like a combo of all of the above, my husband helps me stay accountable and there is ice cream in my freezer that is waiting for me to eat it up.

Just my initial thoughts on goals, I would love to know what any of you think about goals or how you achieve the difficult things that you set out to do!

Peace out.

4 thoughts on “Getting better at getting better

Leave a Reply

